For a couple of years now I’ve been wanting to move to Los Angeles (I currently live in the San Francisco Bay Area). I’d like to make the move some time in the summer, so I’ve started looking now.

Location

I’d like to be in the San Ferndando Valley, in any of these cities:

  • Studio City
  • Valley Village
  • North Hollywood
  • Burbank (west of I-5)
  • Sun Valley (west of I-5)
  • Valley Glen

Maybe as far out as:

  • Van Nuys (east of I-405)
  • Sherman Oaks (east of I-405)
  • Glendale (north of 134)

Requirements

Warehouse

What do I need? Here’s what I think my minimum requirements are:

  • 1000 - 1500 ft2
  • High clear space (17’ or better)
  • Ground floor
  • Roll-up door
  • 3-phase, 240 V power
  • Ease of installing outlets (i.e. Wiremold)
  • Floor drain
  • Bathroom
  • Utility sink or sufficient plumbing for such
  • Hot water
  • Affordable1
  • Parking
  • EVSE2

Fairly important:

  • Isolated office, large enough for electronics lab, desk.
  • Easy lease terms (i.e. monthly, no NNN or IG BS)

Nice to have:

  • Mezzanine
  • HVAC
  • Good epoxy coat on floor

Home

Currently, I have about 65 ft2 dedicated to my electronics lab at home. I’ll be moving all that into the warehouse (yay, no more 20-minute drive when I need to go from one to the other!).

My home is a two-bedroom, two-bath place, with washer & dryer, and two-car garage (with EVSE). I figure I need:

  • One bedroom or studio
  • 1 - 1.5 bath
  • Washer & dryer
  • Parking
  • EVSE2

I also have two cats, who will not be happy about moving into a much smaller space. I feel bad for them. Alternatively, I could get a two-bedroom place with a roommate, if I could find a suitable roommate.


  1. Affordable, is of course, debatable. Basically, I need the right warehouse, and small apartment, for less than I can rent out my townhome in the Bay Area, plus what I’m currently paying for my warehouse. I’m guessing this equates to a total of about $4000. I’m cautiously optimistic I can pull this off. 

  2. I drive an electric car, and really want to be able to charge overnight at home, and ideally at work. Hopefully I find an apartment complex that understand this.  2